Flag of RwandaThe Republic of Rwanda is, geographically, a very small African country, comprising of about 26,000 square kilometers in size.

Yet, it is a richly endowed country with an amazing variety and diversity of natural beauty, wildlife species, and diverse topographic sceneries that are both panoramic and a beauty to the beholder.

It is the home of the rare mountain gorillas, huge troops of chimpanzees, the rare but cute Golden Monkeys, 13 different species of Monkeys, savannah wildlife species, over 400 bird species, numerous lakes and rivers, unaccountable number of hills, and the majestic dormant volcanic mountains, some of them towering over 4,500 meters above sea level.

Rwanda is divided into five provinces (intara) and subdivided into thirty districts (akarere). The provinces are:

  • North Province
  • East Province
  • South Province
  • West Province
  • Kigali Province

Prior to 1 January 2006, Rwanda was composed of twelve provinces, but these were abolished in full and redrawn as part of a program of decentralization and reorganization.

For the detailed information about Rwanda’s tourist attractions, please visit THE Online Travel Guide for Rwanda: ENJOY RWANDA.